Gabrielle Ray

'Gabrielle Ray said, 'I am always dancing; I love it! When I don't dance, I sing. What else is there to do?'

Gabrielle Ray – The Sporting Times – Saturday 4th April 1914


ROUND THE TOWN

 By SON OF THE MORNING

 

I looked in at the All Fools’ Day Revel at Covent Garden on Wednesday night, but, truth to tell, though it was very full, the proceedings were not particularly hilarious. In fact, the majority the participants wore a worried look, suggestive of unpaid rent, and obtrusive tax collectors. Well known people were scarce, but I caught a glimpse of Marie Lohr dancing energetically; Gabrielle Ray, otherwise Mrs. Eric Loder, in very natty sailor boy’s costume; Lily Elsie, who hardly left her box; while the men, Sir “Romeo” Stuart was here, there, and everywhere, and a young Guardsman of my acquaintance was very resplendent in the uniform his grandfather wore at Waterloo.

The Sporting Times – Saturday 4th April 1914

May 18, 2022 - Posted by | Actress, Gabrielle Ray, Lily Elsie, Social History, Uncategorized | , , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.