Gabrielle Ray

'Gabrielle Ray said, 'I am always dancing; I love it! When I don't dance, I sing. What else is there to do?'

Gabrielle Ray (Rotary 4820 D)


My collection of Miss Ray, although small is growing and this is one of  my favourite pictures of her.

The photographer is able to manipulate the image through lighting, dress and expression. However there are times when, perhaps in an unguarded moment the subject is caught and the image produced conveys more than possibly intended. It may be that having read the final chapter of Miss Ray’s life, the heroes, villains, plot and ultimate ending is known and so our own interpretation of a particular image becomes coloured. For me this image shows Miss Ray as thoughtful, reflective but more than that, there is a sadness shown in her eyes. Has the photographer caught a prophetic image of the future, do her eyes give us a hint of her sad future? Hopefully not. When I saw this card I knew that I had to have it regardless of the cost.

The post date is June 1908, Miss Ray would have been 21.

April 8, 2010 - Posted by | Actress, Deltiology, Gabrielle Ray, Rotary, Social History | , , , , , ,

4 Comments »

  1. Discovered your blogs today via Valentino Vamp and I must say, your collection of photographs is gorgeous!

    Jen from Silent Stanzas ^_^

    Comment by Jennifer | November 22, 2010 | Reply

    • Thank you, I’m glad you like my collecion, sadly in the minority though 😦

      Comment by summertime75 | November 22, 2010 | Reply

  2. […] But his big love is Ms Gabrielle Ray and why not, she was a stunning girl, so do check out his other blog just about Ms Ray at the aptly named blog Gabrielle Ray, he must have thought hard on what to name that blog Gabrielle Ray (Rotary 4820 D) […]

    Pingback by Congratulations Grumpy Old Fart « Erotixx photoblog | February 25, 2012 | Reply

  3. […] Gabrielle Ray (Rotary 4820 D) […]

    Pingback by Gabrielle Ray (Rotary M.14.C) « Gabrielle Ray | February 4, 2013 | Reply


Leave a Reply

